Fontaine Commits To UGA

Tight End Arthur Fontaine

Tight End Arthur Fontaine

Tight end Arthur Fontaine of Dartmouth, Mass., who committed to Georgia on Tuesday, still can’t believe the way his recruiting played out. He is Georgia’s 13th commitment for the 2009 recruiting class.

“I never had any intentions of going to Georgia when they first offered,” Fontaine said. “But I visited and loved it. Then I visited Georgia again last week and loved it more.”

Fontaine, who is ranked as the nation’s No. 4 tight end by Rivals, actually gave a secret commitment to Georgia coach Mark Richt at the end of his three-day trip to Athens last Friday. Fontaine waited until Tuesday to reveal his decision because he wanted to inform his other finalists: Boston College, Virginia and Maryland.

“Coach Richt was real excited, and then [Georgia assistant Mike Bobo] told a funny story: He said he had a dream about me, that I signed with Georgia but reported at 211 pounds. He said ‘Oh no, I thought you were going to be 245 because we really need that big tight end in our offense.’ I was laughing the whole time.”

Fontaine said it was his “gut feeling” that led him to the Bulldogs. He also said the blessing of his mother played a critical role in his final decision.

“My mom loved Coach Richt and Georgia, which just confirmed how I felt about everything,” Fontaine said. “I still can’t believe this kid from Massachusetts is going down to Georgia, and that the No. 1 team in the country wanted me so badly. My mom just said everything happens for a reason, and she’s right.”

Fontaine committed to Boston College in early May, but backed off it a few weeks earlier because he felt he rushed his decision. He said he won’t be changing his mind about the Bulldogs. “Recruiting is over for me.”

– Courtesy of AJC.com

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

