Dawgs Almost Snag Fontaine

Arthur Fontaine

Arthur Fontaine

Arthur Fontaine of Dartmouth, Mass., who is one of the nation’s top tight ends, said he nearly committed to Georgia during his three-day visit to Athens.

“Yeah, I thought about it for a brief moment, but I decided I needed more time to process everything,” said Fontaine, who flew home on Friday night.

The 6-foot-5, 240-pound Fontaine said he could make a decision as early as this week. The Bulldogs, Boston College, Virginia and Maryland are his finalists for the country’s No. 4 tight end, according to Rivals.

It was the second trip to Georgia this summer for Fontaine, who said he made the journey because he wanted to see if he felt just as good about the Bulldogs as he did during the first visit.

“It was probably even better than my first visit,” he said. “I got to watch practice and meet a lot of the players. My mom loved it down there, too. If she’s comfortable with everything, then that makes me feel good. That’s very important to me.”

Fontaine said Georgia coach Mark Richt repeated the same thing he said during his June visit – that he was the team’s No. 1 target at tight end. “I assume Georgia is telling me the truth. Either way, it wouldn’t matter to me. It’s just an honor to be recruited by the No. 1 team in the country. I feel very fortunate to be in the position I am in, and hopefully it will all work out.”

Georgia is also recruiting tight end Orson Charles of Tampa, Fla.

– Courtesy of AJC.com

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

